Know which public holidays have been cancelled for next year

Kathmandu, March 29

As the New Year of Bikram Samvat 2075 is coming closer, the government on Wednesday decided to trim its public holiday calendar. Accordingly, 12 public holidays which the citizens got this year have been cut out.

According to the Cabinet decision made last night, there will not be holidays on the following days from the next year:

Commemoration days

  1. Loktantra Day: Baishakh 11
  2. Republic Day: Jeth 15
  3. National Unity Day: Pus 27
  4. Martyrs Day: Magh 16
  5. Democracy Day: Phagun 7

Hindu festivals

  1. Krishna Janmashtami
  2. Janai Purnima
  3. Rishi Panchami
  4. Ghatasthapana
  5. Dwadashi of Dashain
  6. Kojagrat Purnima
  7. Ram Nawami

Meanwhile, the government also decided to mark the Constitution Day (Asoj 3) as the National Day.

Likewise, it also decided to restrict holidays of Lhosar, Christmas, Chhath and Maghi festivals among others to the communities and regions celebrating them.

“We do not need public holidays to carry out our rituals and celebrate festivals,” the government spokesperson and State Minister for Communication and Information Technology, Gokul Baskota, says.

In the next year, there will be total 67 national holidays including 52 Saturdays and 16 public holidays. Besides, there will be 22 partial holidays that apply to a particular region or community only, says the Ministry of Home Affairs.

You can share this post!